Colleges in Wyoming

colleges in wyoming universities

Disclaimer: The information on our website is provided for general information purposes only. We make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information contained on our website for any purpose. Any reliance on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk and we are not liable for any damages or losses arising out of or resulting from your reliance on any information contained on our website.

colleges in wyoming

Wyoming is home to some of the most well-known, outdoor tourist destinations in the world and this article covers the colleges in Wyoming to research. It’s home to Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone, the popular ski resort of Jackson Hole, and Devil’s Tower. It was even the first state where women had the right to vote, earning the nickname “The Equality State.” Wyoming is also where the University of Wyoming students call home.

University of Wyoming

The University of Wyoming is the only public 4-year university in Wyoming. It’s located in the small community of Laramie in southeastern Wyoming. Laramie is nestled between two mountain ranges and is only 50 miles from Cheyenne and 130 miles from Denver, Colorado. The summers here are cool but short and the winters can be long and snowy. However, there is a ton of outdoor activities for any season here to include hiking, mountain climbing, camping, skiing, and mountain biking.

The University of Wyoming is the only four-year public college in the whole state. It has about 12,000 students, a variety of degrees, and participates in the NCAA Division I sports league. The men’s sports mascot is called the Cowboys where the female athletic teams are called the Cowgirls. They have on-campus dormitories and off-campus housing as well and students can enjoy college life through a host of student organizations and activities.

Community Colleges in Wyoming

Though the University of Wyoming is the only public 4-year university in Wyoming but there are numerous community colleges to choose from.

  • Laramie County Community College, Cheyenne
  • Central Wyoming College, Riverton
  • Sheridan College, Sheridan
  • Casper College, Casper
  • Eastern Wyoming College, Torrington
  • Western Wyoming Community College, Rock Springs
  • Northwest College, Powell
Scroll to Top